Master Tung Acupuncture - Harmonizing the Seasons with Needles and Food

Course Level:
all levels
Access Time: 6 months of unlimited access
Originally Aired: 
Sat, 12/15/2018

8 CEU/PDA/CPD accepted by CA (Category 1), NCCAOM (AOM-BIO), FL (General), IL, TX (General), AHPRA, AFPA, BAcC, CTCMA, IVAS, NZASA, NZRA

Distance Learning CEU Video (Online)

The Chinese seasonal calendar divides the year into four seasons: Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter. Each season is then further divided into six stages, with a total of 24 phases each year. Each phase lasts approximately 15 days and is determined by the position of the sun. Each time the sun advances 15 degrees around Earth, a new phase begins.

A major teaching of the ancient Chinese medical classics is how humans should live in harmony with themselves, with each other, and with the natural world. One of the most important methods of living a long and healthy life is to understand the basic patterns of the natural world and live in a way that moves with, rather than against, these patterns. If seasonal foods that are similar in nature to the external environment are consumed, we are in harmony with the environment and can adapt better to changes in the season and stay healthy. For example, in the Huang Di Nei Jing (or Neijing for short), it says, “in Spring and Summer nourish Yang, and in Autumn and Winter nourish Yin.”

In this course, author of Practical Atlas of Tung's Acupuncture and Pricking the Vessels: Bloodletting Therapy in Chinese Medicine, Dr. Henry McCann, a Master Tung’s acupuncture practitioner passionate about researching and sharing the Nourishing Life tradition of Chinese medicine, starts with an introduction of yin-yang, the 5 phases, and the seasons. He then describes the 24 seasonal nodes, and why it is important to eat according to the season. Lastly, he reveals what foods to consume and what not to consume during each of the seasonal nodes.

Upon completion of this course, practitioners will:

  • Understand what are the 24 seasonal phases
  • Learn why it is important to eat according to the season
  • Learn what food to consume during the appropriate seasonal node

These online courses are immediately accessible after purchase therefore are non-refundable.

For more info on Online Videos, click here to visit our FAQ page.

Purchase this product and receive access to the Lotus Clinical Manual of Oriental Medicine for FREE!

Units : 
CA (Category 1), NCCAOM (AOM-BIO), FL (General), IL, TX (General), AHPRA, AFPA, BAcC, CTCMA, IVAS, NZASA, NZRA
Login or register to post comments